0101001010101001

 

The Veils of My Mind

 

I have some words of my own

but they just seem to leave me alone

 

I should have told you from the start

how I felt in my heart

 

But then those words got between

Me and my stupid dream

And I never said much

That was anyway in touch

with what I thought I might mean

 

You were the genuine girl

No one like you in the world

 

But maybe that was my dream

Nothing is by far what it seems

 

Now I know that you’re someone

Not someone trying to become one

 

Not some picture in a magazine

Not someone to fulfill my dream

 

But in my teens

I wore those jeans

because I wanted that dream to come true

I loved that dream

It gave me meaning

And I thought it was you

And I wanted it, too,

way too bad

Ain’t it sad

 

So who told me that fairytale

Who held up that sign?

Saying love is for sale

You just have to pay attention

Romance is our own invention

as I’m playing hide and seek

Strong and week

Proud and meek

Changing roles behind the veil

of my ever changing mind

Skriv et svar

